rags to…frost?

I am finally sick of looking at the torn trash bag hanging from our garage door window!  The original owners taped it up as an attempt to gain privacy, but it looks soooo trashy! (no-pun intended)  My options were to make curtains and hang them or to frost the glass.  Considering curtains would be in the garage, they will most likely get dirty/dusty.  I already wash enough as it is. Although it would only cost about $30 for the material and brackets, I also would have to put in time finding the right fabric print (motorcycles, tools, etc.) so that the hubby can still consider this his space. 🙂 I decided to go with the much cheaper and time efficient option: frost! I picked up a spray can at Lowe’s for under $5.Valspar frost spray paint

Jeremy took the window off the door frame and we washed and dried the glass. 

Before I knew it, coat number one was under way. first coat of frost It needed to dry for an hour so we put all of our Christmas decorations in the attic which made Jeremy cry inside 😦 Then, we started another project: coat hanger for front entry.  I will be posting more about that soon! While we were working it started to sleet!  So pretty outside!  With the door window out it was pretty chilly (for me! Jeremy ate a popcicle…)popcicleso we stayed warm with this guyheaterTime for coat number two!  For the second coat we sprayed the opposite way to ensure that we wouldn’t have streaks or lines.  Abbra Cadabbra!  frost doneA frosted glass window; I can’t believe how easy and clean this turned out!  Now we just need to add some fresh paint to the door this spring/summer!

This spray frost is so easy to work with that I plan on using much more of it.   Let your imagination be your guide!  Here are a few other pictures I have seen and liked: 

This entry was posted in frost and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to rags to…frost?

  1. Lauren says:

    Yay! So happy for you! Let me know if I can help in any way. You will soon be addicted. Happy blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

